Eric Schlenker and the Crown Town Punx Part 1.


Kind of what I imagine when I think of a bank robber in Jail

Well, I’ve wondered for years now what ever became of my friend Eric Schlenker.  I’ve googled him a few times and once a couple years ago I found a guy with the same name who was a Christian leader type and a graphic artist.  I don’t want to sound like a doubting Tony here but I had my doubts if it was the same Eric Schlenker to be honest although to my credit, I did actually send this other Eric Schlenker guy a little email asking him if  he was familiar with Crown Town, the Crown Town Punx, or anything of a similar nature.  For some reason I don’t recall getting a response.

This is me, Anthony Mandich, about a year after Eric Schlenker and I started getting into shenanigans

Eric and I became friends when I didn’t really have any.  I lived on two acres of orange trees, surrounded on either side by exactly one house (each with its own acreage of orange trees).  That was it.  On the whole street except for at the very very top about a mile away there were a couple of ramshackle little houses (one of which contained some good friends of mine The Alcantars).  Basically I lived in the orange groves straight out.  There was a strange factory across the street that made some sort of rubber products, and Pete’s Road Service separated the three modern houses (including mine) and the more rundown houses at the top of the street.  Other then that there wasn’t jack shit on my street except potholes and lots of orange trees and bare fields with nothing but squirrels and weeds.

Anthony Mandich thought he was so cool....what a fool

Man I was so fucking miserable living in that house.  The address was 18430 Compton Avenue, Corona, California.  Our family had just moved there from a cool part of town, from Citron Avenue.  There was a park there and smooth streets for skateboarding and lots of kids my age (even though I got picked on alot).  I was super bummed when we moved and I know it had some serious consequences for my life looking back for sure.  I felt like an outcast so I began to act like an outcast and for me that meant PUNK ROCK.   Pretty typical beginning for any aspiring rebel juvenile delinquent  to tell the truth.  Except that I had parents who weren’t about to put up with any sort of shit like that from me.

I butted heads fiercely with my step dad and to make a long story short one day I met this kid named Eric who lived with his dad who he didn’t really get along that good with either.  He was a tiny bit older then me (like 8 months or something) and he was cool.  We sorta looked alike, dark hair and whatnot, slender good looking wanna be cool guys and so we started hanging out.  For some reason we decided that we didn’t want to live with our parents anymore.   I guess I was about 14 at this time and Eric was my first real foray into real trouble.  His mom lived in New Mexico and we thought it would be great to run away and go there and start  out some kind of crazy existence over there.  So thats what we did.

Anthony and Natalie

We ran away a few times together.  The furthest we ever got was Blythe, California.  I pussed out in Blythe.  We had gotten on a Greyhound bus in LA and we only had enough money to get to Blythe.  We arrived there at 2 in the morning or something stupid like that and it was so fucking incredibly fucking cold that I ended up calling my parents and my dad ended up driving out to Blythe right then and there to pick me up.  Eric was having none of that action.  He knew that his father was going to beat the shit out of him if he came home so he tried to carry on with the mission alone.  He got picked up by the Blythe Police and sent home anyway and yes he did get his ass beat by his dad, an ordeal I witnessed first hand.  I don’t remember why exactly I was there to witness his dad beating the shit out of him with a belt but I was.  Definitely.  I know I sound like such a soft little bitch but you have to remember Blythe is in the desert and we ran away the day after Christmas.  I waited until then because I knew I was getting Penny Loafers for Christmas and I wanted to make sure I got those before I took off.

Well thats one little story about Eric and me.  There are lots more that I will try to get to but not right now okay.  Anyways I was pretty sad to find out today that Eric recently got arrested for committing a bank robbery in New Mexico and is looking at 20 years in a Federal Prison.

Check out this link:  http://www.justice.gov/usao/nm/pr/2011/2011-02-18_schlenker_br_pr.pdf

Eric Schlenker's arrest announcement for bank robbery (US Department of Justice)

 

 

3 thoughts on “Eric Schlenker and the Crown Town Punx Part 1.

  1. I guess the pink background being for pussies as you say Criss Cross is all good with me. Because I was just reading the title of the Post “Eric Schlenker and the Crown Town Punx etc…..” and thinking to myself ….”Anthony you were such a pussy”. And I really was. I was a wanna be cool kid who didn’t fit in even with the punk kids they were way braver then me to be honesst so yeah pink is an alright color for this blog for now. Thanks for the input!

    Like

  2. I find this story very compelling, I felt as if I actually lived in the orange groves and lived on “Compton” street with you two. As for Eric, it is really unfortunate about his current situation. Drastic times call for drastic measures. I blame the economy, the hard times this country is facing and our president, for Eric’s act of robbery. He obviously is not a career criminal, the reasons why I believe so is 1.) He robbed a Wells Fargo inside a Albertsons 2.) He fled on foot. But you know, you do the crime, you do the time. In federal prison you do the full amount of time and well, your treated fairly well and not around such “hardened” criminals. Mostly “white collar” criminals…it’s camp snoopy. On the bright side, now you no longer have to wonder where your friend is because now you know….

    p.S. ThIs PiNk BaCkgRoUnD iS FoR PuSsIeS

    Like

If you have something to say please comment...

