Richard Bultsma


It just so happens that I have started writing again only recently or this post would have been handled during the Thanksgiving 2014 holiday when shit went down.  This is not the first dead friend I have written about and unfortunately unless I am the next one to go, it won’t be the last.  Shit happens and people die and that is the way of the world.  Well in the macro view of the world it is pretty easy to say something like that and mean it.  People don’t live in the macro world for the most part though so every statistic be it suicide, murder, accidental death, cancer, overdose, natural causes whatever it may be is somebody’s father, mother, sister, brother, grandfather, grandmother, aunt, uncle you get the idea.  People in this world usually make some kind of a mark while they are alive and their sudden absence from the world of light is noted and felt by those upon whom this mark was made.  Try saying that shit ten times as fast as you can.

One of the sad facts of life is that the older you get the more people you watch die.  What a world it would be to have zero contemporaries left.  Talking about an old old geezer here, one who has outlived his generation, all of his friends and family and all of the important people that have made a mark on him are gone.  Sad moment to face that for sure.  The day that everybody you see is a stranger.  That’s some deep fucked up shit really.  I’m not any different than anyone else and I’ve had the misfortune to lose quite a lot of people that I cared a great deal about.  Well as great a deal as a self centered nitwit like myself can care.  Which is a lot.

Richie Bultsma was definitely one of the people I cared about and it was my extreme misfortune to read about his death by suicide sometime about thanksgiving of 2014.  It really blew my mind actually because I just wasn’t ever expecting anything like that.  Rich was a dude who had extreme mental strength.  He was somebody who always managed to keep it cool no matter what was going on around him.  Really the words cool and Richie Bultsma were interchangeable.

I remember Richie turned me on to my favorite bands of all times.  He literally did. The Queers, The Humpers, The Supersuckers, The Dwarves, The Action Swingers, The Lazy Cowgirls.  These are bands that are legend in my life.  I’ve seen these bands hundreds of times.  I’ve even seen the Dwarves two nights in a row in Melbourne, Australia at the Ding Dong Club.  That alone counts for so much to me when I think about the hundreds of thousands of hours I have spent engaging with the bands that I learned about from Richie it trips me out.  He was a busy dude yet he took the time to make me cassette tapes of all of them and this was at a time when cassettes were what you used.

I don’t know why he died  and I am pretty sure that if he knew how many people missed him and went to his funeral and continue to write about him on Facebook and just the overwhelming anguish felt by so many that he is gone maybe he would have found the strength and purpose to work his shit out while still with us.

Richie my friend I could write so much more but the slots are calling me and my daughter is waking up so I am going to have to continue this later okay buddy.10398577_59036424068_5475256_n

If you have something to say please comment...

