Ian McCall will kick ass tonight at Tachi Palace.


Ian McCall faces Darrell Montague tonight for the Tachi Palace Fights flyweight championship.  For those who don’t know, flyweights  fight at 125 lbs.  Personally, I think its bullshit that the UFC doesn’t yet have a 125 lb. division.  At the moment 135 lbs. (Bantamweight) is as low as the UFC goes.  Unless you are brain-dead you already know who fights in that division.  Guys like Dominick Cruz (who also happens to be the current UFC Champion, Urijah Faber, Brian Bowles, Jeff Curran, Scott Jorgenson and Joseph Benavides.

Although Ian will be crowned champion in an organization called Tachi Palace Fights rather then UFC, early next year the UFC will be adding the featherweight class and Ian will be going to the UFC as Champion in much the same way as Dominick Cruz did in the Bantamweight divison.  I am totally biased because Ian is my buddy;  therefore Darrell Montague has no chance in this fight hahahaha.  No, but really, Ian is a sick, sick fighter, full of confidence, utterly fearless, in shape beyond belief, and ruthless in the cage.

He has an incredible record of 10-2 with his only losses coming against Dominick Cruz (see above where it says current UFC bantamweight champion….yeah that Dominick Cruz).  I haven’t seen that fight except for one little snippet but Ian lost that one I guess in a unanimous decision.  Nothing to hang his head about on that loss.  Cruz is on most pound for pound greatest fighter lists and believe me if you haven’t seen him fight, its an awesome thing to behold. Cruz just ran roughshod over his previous opponent (Urijah Faber…..), and I’ve seen him handle Joseph Benavides who is a bad ass fighter himself, not once but twice.  So take nothing away from Ian for losing a fight to Dominick Cruz.  Plus it was years ago anyways and it was in the WEC, a breeding ground for all sorts of bad ass fighters.  I could name dozens (and so could you probably lol).  Ian’s only other loss was also against a tough as nails WEC veteran, a guy who I’ve seen fight on television a bunch of times.  I’m talking about Charlie Valencia.  That was at WEC 31 (Faber vs. Curran).   He lost by submission in that one (I think by guillotine choke but don’t quote me, I’m doing this little blurb from memory and my memory isn’t that great to begin with.

You can do a search on the internet and find some of Ian’s fight videos.

Here is his last fight against a very game Dustin Ortiz, where Ian dominated

To be fair you can’t just check out the wins.  Here’s one of his losses (if the link works….)

Here is part 1 of his unanimous decision against the then #1 ranked flyweight, the undefeated Jussier da Silva (11-0)

Check them out if you haven’t already.  You will agree that he is an edgy, skilled, fearless and very talented fighter.  He has years of experience.  He has trained ultra hard/smart for this fight and to be honest although I don’t know much about Darrell Montague, I’m picking Ian McCall 100% for this fight.  He’s too fucking fast, he kicks too hard, he’s got too much energy and way too many moves for Montague to overcome.  Ian actually reminds me a lot of Dominick Cruz.  The way he dances around, evading the opponent always, just getting in his kicks, punches, elbows and then escaping is reminiscent of Cruz for sure.  Not sure if Ian will be too stoked about me saying that but it’s just my opinion. And I gotta say, Cruz is a bad ass motherfucker and I love watching him fight so its only a compliment to be compared to his stylistically right?

One more thing in Ian’s favor is the fact that he is settling down in life outside the cage.  He’s got a hot girlfriend who I think he’s getting married to soon and they are expecting a daughter in the next few months as well.  That kind of shit going on in your life is supreme motivation (and maybe a tiny bit of pressure as well).  I can see just from the quotes that Montague is sort of looking past Ian like this is going to be some kind of walk in the park, exhibition of whatever and he thinks he’s just gonna win no worries.  He’s fucking high if he thinks he is just going for a stroll in the park against Ian.  Sorry dude fuck that.

I think Montague is cocky where McCall is confident.  Montague reminds me a little of that dude that fought Michael Bisping at the UFC in Sydney a few months ago (UFC 127??).  I forgot that dudes name something like Jorge Rivera.  Whatever, it doesn’t matter, the point is Rivera was talking madness before his fight with Bisping and was super cocky (not saying Montague is acting like that but I just get that sorta feeling).  Anyway Bisping was offended by some of the shit Rivera was doing before the fight and it was what I like to call righteous anger and bottom line Rivera got humiliated big time.  He got his ass kicked, it was so rad.  Probably a lot of you hate Bisping for some reason but I don’t actually.  I like him.  I get alone good with Brits and Aussies and that sort anyway but whatever, he doesn’t offend me and yeah he himself did get his head fucking completely handed to him against Dan Henderson.  Completely knocked the fuck out which so many people were so happy about.  He took it like a man though.

I digress (as usual).

My point is that confidence and belief in yourself is supremely important.  When it crosses a line to cockiness and arrogance that’s when people get fucked up.  Karma and stuff.  I watched a little video that Ian did, an interview with some MMA Expert Guy, it must have taken place like a day ago or something because Mr. McCall looks like he’s at 125 lbs. right now.  Anyway, in the interview, even though Ian is joking around and shit, talking about his mustache and keeping his tone light and kinda joking, you can look into his eyes and see how deadly serious he is about this fight.  There is no brash cockiness.  There is no arrogance.  There is just a guy who has prepared himself for his destiny, a guy who has a family to support, a guy who is hungry and knows he deserves to be in this championship battle.  That guy is Ian McCall.  Tonight we are hopefully going to see Mr. McCall teach Mr. Montague (the villain hahahahhahaha) a lesson about humility and what its like to face a tornado with skills in the ring.

Ian, my friend I wish you luck tonight dude.  I sincerely want nothing more than for you to kick some fucking assssssssssssssssssssssssss!  Montague supposedly said that Ian is in for a long night tonight.  Well, we’ll just see who’s gonna be laying on the canvas praying for the bell.

There are some other fights on the card but I don’t give a shit about them enough to write a bunch of shit that no one is gonna read anyways.  To watch Ian’s fight though, you can go to this site http://www.sherdog.com/

Kick ASS !

If you actually read this, I thank you kindly.  I’m publishing it to my blog pre fight so whatever happens there is no bandwagon jumping on or off for me.  Ian will destroy and Ian will be champion.

Adios…..

2 thoughts on “Ian McCall will kick ass tonight at Tachi Palace.

If you have something to say please comment...